Sunday Musings: You Are Not Alone

Before we got married, I told my husband that it was extremely important to me that we find a church when we move to Nashville. In the 7 years that we dated, church and religion did not play a very large role in our relationship. Deep down this has always bothered me. By no means am I a saint, but a solid foundation built in the church at a young age shaped the person I am today, and I want my children to have the same foundation.

Finding a church in Nashville, or the South in general, is not difficult. Walk one block and you will probably find five. Luckily, our selection process was fairly easy because we have friends in the area who attend a local church and suggested we check it out one Sunday. We did, and absolutely love it!

Getting into the habit of attending church every weekend has been a struggle with our schedules, but we have done a really good job of going when we can. Added bonus about this church, though, is you can watch any of the sermons online so if you miss a week you can watch or listen to the sermon on your own time.

On Sundays, I would like to use the blog to reflect on something profound I heard or saw over the week, just to offer some thoughts and enhance my own reflection of the message. This week I want to highlight the message I took away from today’s sermon. Disclaimer: This is not intended to be a religious blog by any means. One of the most appealing aspects of the church we attend is its therapeutic discourse. Basically, I feel like I am saving tons of money on therapy by attending this church. The main point that hit home today was that “we are not alone.”

During hardship, it is difficult to remember that we do not suffer or hurt in isolation. There are many people in our lives (friends, family, mentors, religious leaders, spiritual counselors, etc.) who have a profound interest in us and who wish us to be the best versions of ourselves. Today it was nice to be reminded that no matter which “season” we are in, we are not alone.

Moving to a new city and working from home presents a lot of opportunities for loneliness, and I would be lying if I said I have not experienced that at some point while living here. Despite these glimpses of loneliness, I have also witnessed the profound impact of the “we’re all in this together” (shout out to High School Musical) attitude from the people I have met and spent time with over the past couple of months. In my moments of loneliness, I am reminded that I’m not alone and those close to me are experiencing the same feelings as I am. The best thing I have done since I moved here is tried to stay as socially active as possible by becoming more of a “yes” person and less of a “maybe next time” person.

Picture-620x340

For those of you who have moved to a new city, how have you managed to keep loneliness at bay?

Some helpful resources for those who just moved to a new place: 

Be My Friend? Socializing in a New City

The Stress-Free Guide to Settling Done in A New City

4 Ways to Find Yourself in A New City

 

*Image found here

2 thoughts on “Sunday Musings: You Are Not Alone

Leave a Reply

