How Going Vegan Made Me a Better Cook

Since I was a little kid, I’ve loved to cook. When I was little, my cooking consisted mostly of ramen noodles and baking pre-made cookies. I’ve come a long way since those days. A year or so ago, I was having a lot of digestion problems and my doctor recommended that I eliminate dairy, gluten, etc. and keep a food journal to write down how I felt after eating certain foods. The food journal lasted all of a day, but I did notice a huge difference in how I felt when I decided to follow a vegan diet.

I was strictly vegan for about 9 months and I absolutely loved it! Now, I would consider myself a flexitarian. My husband and I try to eat vegan at home, but recently we have been eating more vegetarian meals. Becoming vegan truly changed how I cook. Due to the restrictiveness of a vegan diet, I learned how to become extremely creative in the kitchen. Many of the cooking swaps I learned while being vegan I still use today.

Being vegan also helped me really think about the food I was putting into my body. As they say, “Your body’s a temple” and you SHOULD treat it that way. Focusing more on a whole foods, plant-based diet keeps my skin clear, maintains my weight, and all around gives me more energy.

I would highly recommend a vegan diet for anyone who is experiencing digestive problems because it truly gets you back to basics. Being vegan helped me learn that I have a slight dairy intolerance. Yes, I do still have an occasional sundae from Elliston Soda Shop, but trust me, I hate myself afterwards. Banana ice cream has become my new favorite ice cream to experiment with at home and definitely satisfies my sweet tooth.

For those considering going vegan or just trying it out for Meatless Mondays, I would highly recommend the following sites to get you started:

If you don’t feel like cooking vegan at home there a few great vegetarian/vegan restaurants in Nashville that are worth a try! I would highly recommend Avo, Coco Greens, and Wild Cow. And if you need some more inspiration to get cooking, check out my Pinterest boards: Vegan Breakfast, Vegan Lunch, and Vegan Dinner.

What are your favorite vegan/vegetarian spots in Nashville?

10 thoughts on “How Going Vegan Made Me a Better Cook

  1. I’ve been through vegan and vegetarian periods myself, for various reasons, and I must say that it really enhanced my creativity as a cook. Though I cannot quit meat, especially fish, I enjoy all the energy and healthiness (is that a word?) that a meal consistent of veggies and legumes offers, besides, I grew up eating this way. Btw, thank you for stopping by Live Eat Create, I really appreciate it!

    Like

    1. Hey Constance! I completely understand the back and forth. For me, the switch has usually been me just responding to what I think my body needs at the time. When I lived in Europe, I was a firm supporter of the mediterranean diet though and your blog brought back some great food memories!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I lived in Prague back in 2011. I did a decent amount of traveling while I lived there (Spain, France, England, Ireland, Poland, Slovakia, Austria, Turkey, Greece, Hungary, Netherlands, Italy, Germany, etc.). Prague isn’t exactly known for a mediterranean diet by any means, but traveling around I got to take in a lot of the local fare. I plan on posting some travel memories up on the blog eventually. Maybe you will see some familiar spots.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

