July Fourth in Nashville

We were so lucky to have our friends in town from Ireland this weekend to celebrate the Fourth. After reading numerous blogs, magazines, online forums, etc. I decided to purchase the general admission tickets for the George Jones Museum rooftop. For $25 a piece, this was a steal! We were basically front row to the fireworks and got to enjoy live music leading up to the festivities.

Before heading over to George Jones, we took our friends to the Wild Beaver since Tequila Cowboy’s bull has been out of commission for the past few weeks. With a little bit of liquid encouragement, our buddy hopped on the bull and tried his luck. For those of you who don’t know, Wild Beaver is a karaoke bar off the main strip downtown. If you have ever been to a karaoke bar in Nashville you know that the vast majority of the singers are extremely talented. It is Music City after all! After getting our fill of the Wild Beaver we walked over to George Jones to get our wristbands for the roof.

My only complaint on this near perfect night was the service at George Jones. I used to waitress and I find myself always being extremely cognizant of servers and bartenders. When my husband and I ordered our beers the bartender said, “Okay, that’ll be $12”. We paid her $12 and she then looked at my husband as if he didn’t pay enough, and put the tip jar under his nose. This gesture was so unbelievably rude that I was completely taken aback. She genuinely did not move the jar, or her gaze until we tipped.

I have never experienced something like that before at any bar or restaurant. Then to add insult to injury, the next bartender we had was also incredibly rude. Now, don’t get me wrong, if we had been some belligerent drunks, who hadn’t tipped once, stumbling over ourselves and screaming, I think rudeness would have been appropriate; however, we were polite and stone cold sober.

It took every ounce of energy in both my husband and I not to request to speak with a manager. Quite frankly, after last night’s experience, I doubt we will return to George Jones again unless it is to see the fireworks. But all-in-all, aside from the terrible service, this was an excellent location to view fireworks in the city and I would recommend giving it a look next year. Just be aware that you may be dealing with some very unhappy bartenders as you wait.

 

Leave a Reply

