Saying “Yes” More and “No” Less

In 2008, Jim Carrey starred in the movie “Yes”. In the movie, Carrey challenges himself to say “yes” more over the course of the year. To be candid, I have never actually seen the movie, but I think the concept is particularly relevant to anyone who has recently moved to a new area. As a recent transplant to Nashville, I have challenged myself to say “yes” more.

It is so easy to fall into a routine, and when I lived in the DC area, this mostly consisted of opting for Netflix over a night out on the town with my friends.  That is one of my biggest regrets after leaving the area. I wish I would have said “yes” more and saved the Netflix routine for my later years.

I can honestly say I feel like I have done more in my short time in Nashville than I did my 3+ years in Arlington. Sometimes saying “yes” to everything can get a little pricey so my husband and I have started getting creative with our plan making to ensure it is not only fun, but cost-effective. In the summer, this is a lot easier because the weather supports these types of activities (i.e. BBQs, pool days, etc.).

Saying “yes” more also includes doing a little soul-searching to find the activities that you really enjoy doing whether or not a paycheck is attached to them. For me, this has prompted me to go through the End Slavery Tennessee volunteer training and reach out to my sorority’s alumni group in town.

I’m looking forward to seeing where these opportunities take me over the next couple of months and can’t wait to keep exploring Nashville this summer.

How has becoming more of a “yes” person impacted your life?

 

 

Leave a Reply

